One day I hope to marry for love, real love.

Image

“I’m looking for love. Real love. Ridiculous, inconvenient, consuming, can’t-live-without-each-other love.”
—Carrie Bradshaw, Sex and the City.

I started this page for school purposes to talk about issues regarding Race, Gender and Media, now that the class is over, I’ve decided to write about things more personable to me as well as issues that I see that I, of course, have an opinion about. Something I want to talk about is finding love and the one day possibility that I will get married. When I was in high school, I told myself I would never get married, I would never have a family. It was something I did not want. Even now, a senior at the University at North Texas, I am torn between what I want. Getting my degrees is above al the most important thing and I can’t let anything stand in that way of achieving that goal.

However, it is with each new state or country that accepts Marriage Equality and allows two people of the same sex to marry that I find myself wanting to find that one. I’ve told myself not to look, to wait, the one will come to me and so that’s what I do while secretly planning my ideal lesbian wedding on Pinterest. THough while I am at this stage in my life, I’m wondering if there really is a time where it just becomes normal to think about marrying for love and commitment. A couple years from thirty, I am eagerly waiting for the “Mrs. Right” to find me and I to find her.

Just a random thought for now.
Until next time,

Leave a Reply

