Past Reflection, Future Hopes

2017-1

The end of 2016 is almost upon us. The dumpster fire that has been this year is about to be extinguished and a new year is about to be ushered in. While, I personally had a good 2016, I am definitely ready to face 2017 head on and with a positive outlook. Reflecting on the past 12 months, I had some very good moments.

January
Started my second semester of grad school after finishing my first with a 4.0.
February
Went to my first housing conference.
Accepted my ACUHO-I internship position with Purdue Northwest University
March
Went to my first NASPA and made some amazing connections.
April
Initiated into Gamma Phi Beta Sorority, Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society and the National Society of Leadership and Success.
May
Made the drive to Indiana to start my Internship, finished my first year of grad school with a 4.0, and had a successful first year in housing.
June-July
Stayed in Indiana for two months, made some great connections with Purdue employees, went to Chicago, and completed a successful internship and a summer course.
August
Turned 30 and started my last year of grad school, transitioned from a graduate assistant to an Assistant Community Director over two buildings, and started working more on homecoming.
October
Nominated and voted in to serve as the Master student for the Graduate Faculty Council representing my program, started my trainings to become an advisor for Gamma Phi Beta, and helped kick off and run a successful week of Homecoming events.

I saw the completion of my second to last semester of grad school in December. I also saw the start of my Student Affairs Job Search with a first round interview with Texas Tech University. I always seem to exhale a sigh of relief knowing that once the New Year starts, the last semester will be starting and the job search will be intensifying. I am looking forward to graduating with my Masters degree in Higher Education Administration.

Looking to 2017, the job search and graduation aside, there is a few things that I really hope to accomplish.

  • Read more books and articles on higher education/Student Affairs
    • I feel I get sucked into the Hulu/Netflix/Amazon Prime portal sometimes and I forget that I have so many books and articles actually saved to read.
  • Write more blogs, especially if there is a buzz worthy topic floating the field
    • This blogging concept is actually kind of fun and I want to commit to it more.
  • Prepare for my move to the next chapter in my life
    • I’m out of credit card debt for the most part, but I still have a spending problem. I really need to cut back and save my money.
    • I also need to work on minimizing and preparing myself for this move. I don’t know where 2017 is going to take me on my job search but I have a lot of stuff.
  • Be more health conscious
    • Every year I swear I’m going to lose weight and be better about what I’m eating and drinking. However, each week, I get wrapped up in my own stress and find myself chugging Mountain Dew and eating more McDonalds than I should (Blame it on Grad School). I need to change.

These are my main goals right now. They seem really attainable as long as I keep my motivation up and remain persistent to attain them. I’m ready to move from the SAGrad life to the SAPro!

I’m really excited for 2017!

Elizabeth R. Webb

 

2 thoughts on “Past Reflection, Future Hopes

Leave a Reply

